Take Care of Mom

The blog where MOM comes first

Link Love: Natural Detox

I am going to kick of my summer and get my body ready for that swimsuit (yikes!) with a week of natural detox this week.  (And will wrap it up just in time for Memorial Day weekend, ha!)  I am not interested in expensive products or a diet plan I will never follow, so  I thought I would do a little reading around the web to see how to do it the old-fashioned way.  Here are the best things I read:

  • The Truth About Natural Liver Cleansing at WebMD.com  offered a great overview of what a detox diet is, what the benefits are, and explains how our body’s natural detox system works.  The article lays out a very simple plan which includes: increasing water and adding more healthful, whole, plant-based foods while decreasing alcohol and caffeine, fat and animal proteins, and refined and processed foods.
  • Over at NaturalMomsBlog.com Lexi has lots of great ideas on mothering the “natural” way.  Like this great post on How to Make Your Own Vegetable Juice without an expensive juicer.
  • Get your kids in on the fun!  Tiffany at NatureMomsBlog.com has a fabulous idea for making Homemade Healthy Veggie Popsicles, just in time for the summer sun!
  • When I think of natural, I think of Jamie Oliver!  I LOVED his Food Revolution mini-series that aired recently.  I’ve been meaning to get Jamie’s Food Revolution: Rediscover How to Cook Simple, Delicious, Affordable Meals, which is just $19.25 at Amazon (list price $35.00).
  • Another mom seems to be up to the same thing!  Pam tells us how she is implementing her own plan in her post Raw Food Detox?

Have you followed a detox plan before?  How did it go for you?

May 24, 2010 - Posted by | Health | , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. thanks for leaving me some blog love! good luck with your detox, your body and your kids will thank you!
    i want to be around to be 1000 so i can torture, er i mean, be there for my great grand kids!
    keep us posted on your progress.

    Comment by Pammy Pam | May 24, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

